Tag: Prometheus Award

Angry Robot

Apex Finalist for Prometheus Award

Apex by Ramez Naam (May 2015)Hot on the tail of last week’s Philip K Dick Award win, Ramez Naam‘s Apex has been announced as a finalist for the 36th Prometheus Award!

You might remember that Nexus, the first in Ramez’s series, won the 2014 Prometheus Award, joint with Cory Doctorow’s Homeland.

The five finalists for 2016 are ApexSeveneves by Neal Stephenson, The Just City by Jo Walton, A Borrowed Man by Gene Wolfe and Golden

More →
Angry Robot, Author Appearances, Awards, General skiffy bollocks

Nexus Wins the Prometheus Award!

We are delighted to announce that Ramez Naam‘s Nexus has won the 2014 Prometheus Award from the Libertarian Futurist Society, tying with Cory Doctorow‘s brilliant Homeland!

Ramez was short-listed for both Nexus and its sequel Crux with Nexus described thusly in the awards announcement:

Nexus offers a gripping exploration of politics and new extremes of both freedom and tyranny in a near future where emerging technology opens up unprecedented possibilities for mind control or personal liberation and interpersonal connection.

Ramez Naam: “I’m absolutely honored and thrilled to be receiving the Prometheus Award for Best Novel, and

More →