As has now become customary, we’re listing below the books we published last year that are eligible for various awards. Being British, however, we’re doing it furtively, and we’re looking up every now and then to make sure no-one’s watching us.

As ever, this list is provided purely as an aide-mémoire, not as a list of recommendations – if you’ve read the works below and consider them to be award-worthy, the authors would be thrilled if you would consider nominating/voting for them. If you haven’t read them, they’re all available from your favourite offline or online store.

Here are the books we published in 2013* (covers are gathered together by artist, not by publication date – see artist list at the end of this blog post):

Nexus 125pxCrux by Ramez Naam 125pxThe Mad Scientist's Daughter 125pxBlack Feathers by Joseph D'Lacey, 125pxEmpire Of The Blood 125pxThe Lives of Tao 125pxThe Deaths Of Tao 125pxShe Returns From War 125pxThe Merchant Of Dreams 125pxThe Prince of Lies by Anne Lyle 125pxThe Bookman Histories 125pxThe Eighth Court by MIke Shevdon 125pxBetween Two Thorns 125pxAny Other Name by Emma NewmanAll Is Fair by Emma Newman 125pxHell To Pay by Matthew HughesThe Age Atomic, by Adam ChristopherThe Marching Dead 125pxThe Blue Blazes125pxThe Cormorant by Chuck Wendig -125pxA Discourse in Steel, 125pxThe Iron Wolves by Andy Remic 125pxiD by Madeline Ashby 125pxThe Big Reap 125pxThree by Jay Posey, 125pxSeven Forges by James A Moore, 125pxHeartwood by Freya Robertson 125pxPrince Thief by David Tallerman 125px

Wow! Look at what we made, ma! 

The following books are the debut novels we published in 2013 (eligible for various “Debut novel” as well as “Best novel” awards):

Debut novels
Nexus by Ramez Naam
The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu
Three by Jay Posey

These were the other novels we published in 2013 (eligible for various “Best novel” awards)

Non-Debuts (excluding omnibuses)
The Merchant of Dreams by Anne Lyle
The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke
She Returns from War by Lee Collins
Between Two Thorns, Any Other Name and All is Fair by Emma Newman
Hell to Pay by Matthew Hughes
The Age Atomic by Adam Christopher
The Marching Dead by Lee Battersby
Black Feathers by Joseph D’Lacey
The Eighth Court by Mike Shevdon
The Blue Blazes and The Cormorant* by Chuck Wendig
A Discourse in Steel by Paul S Kemp
iD by Madeline Ashby
The Big Reap by Chris F Holm
Crux by Ramez Naam
Seven Forges by James A Moore
Prince Thief by David Tallerman
Heartwood by Freya Robertson
The Prince of Lies by Anne Lyle
The Deaths of Tao by Wesley Chu
The Iron Wolves* by Andy Remic

Authors eligible for the John W Campbell Award:

Ramez Naam
Wesley Chu
Jay Posey
Lee Collins
Lee Battersby
Emma Newman
Adam Christopher
Cassandra Rose Clarke

Artists for the year:

Argh! Oxford for
Nexus, Crux, The Mad Scientist’s Daughter, Black Feathers, The Lives of Tao, The Deaths of Tao, The Empire of the Blood (omnibus)

Larry Rostant for
The Merchant of Dreams, The Prince of Lies

John Coulthart for
The Bookman Histories, The Eighth Court

Sarah J Coleman for
Between Two Thorns, Any Other Name, All is Fair

Chris McGrath for
She Returns from War

Tom Gauld for
Hell to Pay

Will Staehle for
The Age Atomic

Nick Castle for
The Marching Dead

Joey HiFi for
The Blue Blazes, The Cormorant

Lee Gibbons for
A Discourse in Steel, The Iron Wolves

Martin Bland for

Amazing15 for
The Big Reap

Steven Meyer-Rassow for

Alejandro Colucci for
Seven Forges, Heartwood

Angelo Rinaldi for
Prince Thief

(And Angry Robot editor: Lee Harris)

*These have a 2014 copyright date, but were first available in the US on 31st December 2013.