Hello and welcome to the latest Robot Round-Up, bringing you all the very best in Angry Robot themed link action from around the Interwebs.

Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman, March 2013We’re going to kick things off this week with a fresh selection of reviews of Emma Newman‘s Between Two Thorns – the first volume of her Split Worlds series, which we’re publishing next Tuesday in US/CAN print and Ebook, with the UK print edition to follow on Thursday March 7th. Reviews we’ve spotted this week include:

• Sarah at SF Crowsnest: “This novel draws you in from the very first, tempting you with magical creatures set against present day Bath. I tried only reading one chapter just to test the writing style, etc but found myself, a few hours later, having read a vast amount of the book … It sits beautifully within my favourite type of fantasy novel, fairy tale within the present day.”
• Christal at Badass Book Reviews: “The world-building in this novel was very strong and was what transformed this novel into something distinctive.”
• Momo the Mome Rath at Where the Mome Raths Outgrabe: “Between Two Thorns had good prose, great characters, and was a well done mystery. I recommend it to anyone who loves faeries, high society related books, and/or a good mystery.”

Emma has also posted her 50th Split Worlds short story, over on Matt Forbeck‘s website. Only a couple more to go now, and you’ll be able to read, and listen to, the whole set.

Cassandra Rose Clarke‘s The Mad Scientist’s Daughter was reviewed by Lisa at Starmetal Oak Reviews: “I was impressed with the quality of writing and the flow of the story. I was absorbed for the entirety of the book and found myself emotionally involved with all the characters.” And by Tahlia Newland: “The Mad Scientist’s Daughter is the most extreme story of unrequited love that I have ever read.”

Cassandra was interviewed by Carl V. Anderson for SF Signal, and talked about The Mad Scientist’s Daughter, her Strange Chemistry books and the nature of love.

Black Feathers by Joseph D'Lacey, April 2013Joseph D’Lacey‘s Black Feathers won’t be with us until early April, but early reviews continue to come in. Shadowhawk at The Founding Fields said: “Spectacular is the word I’d use to describe [Black Feathers]. Nothing else can capture the reading experience.” And Vicky at Vicky Thinks thought aloud: “With memorable settings, vivid writing and important themes, Black Feathers is an extremely atmospheric and thought-provoking read.”

Ramez Naam‘s Nexus was reviewed this week by Ed at Starburst Magazine, who said: “Nexus is a strong debut novel; its central premise is interesting and Naam draws us into a highly detailed and technologically literate world. Fans of The Matrix, Strange Days or Wild Palms will find this an interesting read which will make you want to learn more about the issues raised.” And Paul at SF Signal: “Ramez Naam presents an interesting world and characters 30 years hence strongly grounded in the real life research and speculation he was hitherto best known for … An interesting and intriguing fiction debut from a non fiction pioneer in bio-technological issues.”

Chuck Wendig‘s second Miriam Black book, Mockingbird was reviewed in the latest issue Geek Syndicate Quarterly (link to a big ol’ pdf file there, folks, or you can read it on issuu.com), wherein it was said: “This is an earthy book, descriptive and dark, with black comedy at the oddest places. Miriam is a hardboiled heroine, who doesn’t pull her punches or her speech. For fans of horror and paranormal, this is well worth the read.”

Paul S. Kemp has posted a snippet from A Discourse in Steel, the first of several that he will be revealing over the course of the next few months in the run-up to publication.

Stories by Chuck Wendig and Matt Forbeck are included in the current Bundle of Holding, a package of fiction ebooks written by games writers, on a pay-what-you-want basis (bearing in mind that the more you pay, the more bonus material you get…)

Jo Anderton‘s new short fiction collection The Bone Chime Song and other stories is now available to pre-order from FableCroft.

Gav Thorpe is the latest guest of Abhinav Jain’s Names: A New Perspective blog post series and talks about the geography of names.

We’ve donated some ARCs to the current Con or Bust drive to raise funds to help fans of colour attend SF conventions. Between now and Sunday you can bid on rare print ARCs of either Black Feathers or The Mad Scientist’s Daughter and help the Con or Bust folks reach their target.

Our Robot Overlord Marc has been talking to Publishing Perspectives about what it takes to build a publishing house from scratch.

And finally: Want to write a novel? Chuck Wendig Tells You How. (Warning: just a tad sweary…)

That’s your lot for this week, folks. Have a good weekend. See you next time.

Leave a Comment